Membership of the association is open to all gardeners whether they are allotment plot holders or not. The membership fee is £6 per year (2022) and includes group membership of the National Allotment Society.

Tuesday 24 November 2015

Tuesday 10 November 2015

AGM Thursday 19th November

Wrexham Allotment and Leisure Gardeners’ Association

AGM on Thursday, 19th November 2015 at the
Wrexham War Memorial Club, Farndon St, Wrexham LL13 8DE

(Doors open at 7pm for a 7.15 start to allow people to purchase drinks should they wish to do so.)


             1.      Minutes of the last AGM held on 20th November 2014 at War Memorial Club
             2.      Matters arising
             3.      Chairman’s report
             4.      Treasurer’s report
             5.      Election of officers and committee members

CHAIRMAN (resulting from the death of Huw Griffith). - Norman Land, the existing Vice-Chairman, has been nominated for this position. 

VICE-CHAIRMAN – Dave Roberts (retiring Secretary) has been nominated for this position, in the event that Norman Land is elected Chairman

SECRETARY – Kate Bunning has been nominated for this position

ASSISTANT SHOW SECRETARY (with a view to taking over as Show Secretary at the 2016 AGM) – No nomination received, so volunteer required

ERDDIG SITE REPRESENTATIVE – No nomination received, so volunteer required.

VICTORIA ROAD SITE REPRESENTATIVE Kate Thurton has been nominated for this position

NOTE: If Norman Land is not appointed Chairman, he will continue as Vice-Chairman and in his other role as Prices Lane Site representative. 

The other officers and Committee members who are continuing in their roles are:

Pete Brown (Treasurer and shop buyer)
Mike Jarvis (Show Secretary)
Derek Griffiths (Tanyfron Site Representative)
Nev Pate (Committee Member and assistant shop buyer)

        6.   Annual Show – to receive a report from the Show Secretary on the 2015 Show and a recommendation from the Committee that our Annual Show be changed from a members’ only show to an open show.

        7.   Award in Memory of Huw Griffith – to consider proposals, as discussed with Huw’s sister.

        8.   Shop Opening Hours – Of the members who responded to the survey, the majority favoured a Saturday opening from 11.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.  This suits the regular shop volunteers and so the Committee has decided that this change be implemented for 2016.  The Committee will also be considering other possible changes, e.g. not opening the shop in October.

Following the formal AGM business, there will be an OPEN DISCUSSION about the future of the Association, shop stocks, shop rota etc.   This will be followed by a fun QUIZ.